Club Championships

2023 Club Champs

The SHTC club champs for 2023 are:

Open Doubles: George Batziakas and Dylan Edgley

Women’s Singles: Yuko Ema

Men’s Singles: George Batziakas

For a full report, go to 🎾 2023 SHTC Club Championships🏆

2020-2022 : No play

2019 Club Champs

With the slight change in formats (round-robin) and more importantly, for all players to make themselves available over the weekends, we were able to complete all three competitions within a month.


Thanks to all for taking part, with special mention to the “fans” who came to watch, to Pierre for organising the BBQ and Jeff Greening for doing the presentations.


Details for 2019 are:


Men’s Singles (18 players across 4 groups, 26 round-robin matches – top 2 of each group through to the Quarter Finals)


Winner: Rod Bernabe (6-2/6-4) – Neil Maher Trophy and $100 voucher


Runner-up: Willy Kosasih – $50 voucher


Played in front of died-hard fans (4), Rod and Willy battled close to 1 1/2 hours with Rod prevailing in straight sets. Willy played with his usual gritty game style and kept the rallies going in order to force the errors from Rod. Unfortunately most ended up going to Ros’s strenth – the forehand – which he was able to put away to shorten the rallies.


Women’s Singles (5 players in 1 group, 7 matches – top 2 direct to Grand Final)


Winner: Mel Wundersitz (7-6/7-5) – Marie Mcgloughlin Trophy and $100 voucher


Runner-up: Brenda Gao – $50 voucher


Definitely a bigger crowd than the Men’s Final, quite pleasing to see especially as it was played on a mid-week afternoon, and the game did not disappoint.


For over 2 hours Mel and Brenda slugged it out on Court 2 in near perfect tennis conditions. Mel came out of the blocks firing on all cylinders (in particular her forehand), racing off to a 5-1 lead in quick time. However Brenda soon nullified Mel’s groundstrokes as she counter-punched and played some wonderful rallies, fighting back to level at 5 all in under an hour. Brenda continued her fight back by Breaking Mel one more time to lead 6-5 and serve for the set. Mel had other ideas and broke back before taking the set in a tie-break. The second set was another close tussle, with play lasting nearly an hour and Mel winning both the second set and the match.


Men’s Doubles (5 teams in 1 group, 10 matches – top 2 direct to the Grand Final)


Winner: Dylan Edgley/Sam Cohen (7-5/6-2) – Keith Young Trophy and $50 voucher each


Runners-up: Rod Bernabe/Willy Kosasih – $25 voucher each


The first set was tight with both teams playing rather well, with very few breaks in serve. Rod and Willy tried desperately to negate Dylan and Sam’s powerful games but fell just short in the first set. In the second set Dylan and Sam put on a doubles masterclass. Rod and Willy were simply outclassed and struggled to keep pace. Dylan and Sam were, in the end, too good and defended their 2018 crown by winning in straight sets.


Thanks to Rod Bernabe for organising the Club Championships once again, we look forward to seeing even more players next year.