FPTC secures Cambridge Cup

Share this

The Cambridge Cup tennis competition returned on Sunday, after a break of eight years, with Floreat Park Tennis Club emerging on top after a close-fought battle.

First contested between City Beach, Reabold and Floreat Park clubs in 1999, the event was a semi-regular part of the local community landscape. However, it dropped from the schedule in recent times until the three clubs got together to plan its return.

Led by Floreat Captain Adrian Fowler and Coach Andy Mackechnie, City Beach’s Nick Kirkbride and Reabold’s Emily Forrest, the three clubs arranged for 16 players from each club to contest the event. Eight male and eight female players formed each team, ranging from League players through to club social members, and played across six rounds of matches.

Floreat's team was:

Ash Jones, Catherine Dolphin, Philip Weerakody, Jenny Morgan,  Phil Sealey, Mimi Thet, Sebastian Montoya, Winda Prastiwi, John Strachan, Jan Yeo, Brett Arnold, Penny Askin, Mark Charlton, Lesley Nourse, Steve Doran and Michelle Kelly.


Hosted at Floreat’s home ground at 1 The Boulevard, the event started with three rounds of same sex doubles matches, followed by three mixed doubles rounds. After an afternoon of competitive but friendly sport, Floreat pipped Reabold to the title, with City Beach in third. It was Floreat’s first win since 2003. Players and spectators were then hosted at a post event BBQ and drinks, that ran on into the evening.