About Us

Sydenham Tennis Club was officially opened by The Honourable Robert MacLellan MLA (Minister for Planning), Councilor Giro Lambardi (Mayor of Keilor) and Mr Ross Palazzesi (General Manager VIC AV Jennings Ltd) on Wednesday 1st June 1994. The project was funded by AV Jennings Ltd as a community development initiative.

The initial clubroom was a shack built in 1988. This was re-developed by Brimbank City Council to the existing clubroom. Two of the four courts were resurfaced in 2005 by Sydenham Tennis Club inc conjunction with Brimbank City Council.

The Sydenham Tennis Club has 6 synthetic courts, all with lighting, allowing for night competition, coaching and member usage throughout the year. The club boasts 160+ members, consisting of juniors (under 17), seniors (over 17), with all degrees of ability and interest. The club participates in the North Suburban Tennis Association (NSTA), NSNTA (night) & NSJTA (junior) competitions.

Membership at the club has grown steadily over the years and is approaching maximum capacity.

In 2003, Brimbank Council formulated a master plan of development for the local area which incorporated the existing tennis courts and clubroom. Two additional courts have been included in the master plan, which are well and truly required at this time. The club is hopeful that council funding will be available to put the proposed works into action in the next financial year.


Committee of Management

Sydenham Tennis Club is run by a committee of management. The members of the committee are volunteer members who are dedicated to the future growth of the club. Members of the committee are elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in July. All Sydenham Tennis club members are welcome and encouraged to attend the AGM, nominate to be a committee member, whether that be a general member or a member holding a position, and participate in the future of the club.


The Committee of Management includes:-

President Peter Wollbrandt
Vice President Leo Ibrahim
Secretary Stephen Cameron
Treasurer Steven Seinor
General Committee Members Julie Cameron, Boris Hrvatin, Stephen Cameron.