Notice of Annual General Meeting of the South Camberwell Tennis Club Held at the Annual General Meeting at the Clubhouse at 12pm on 7 October 2023

At the meeting the following items will be discussed and decided;

- 1. To approve the minutes from the previous AGM of 1 October 2022, as attached to this notice.
- 2. To receive and consider:
 - I. The Committee's annual report.
 - II. The financial statements for the 2023 financial year.
- 3. To confirm or vary the amounts of the annual subscription and joining fee
 - I. The Committee recommends the annual and joining fees for all membership categories be as set out in accordance with Schedule 1 contained in this notice. The Chairman will explain the rationale for these recommended changes at the meeting
- 4. Election of Committee and Elected Officers
 - I. To confirm a maximum membership of the Committee for 2023/24 of 10.

At the date of this notice, all current elected officers and current Committee members have indicated they will seek renomination.

- II. To elect:
 - i. a President,
 - ii. a Vice President,
 - iii. a Secretary and
 - iv. a Treasurer,

in that order, each of whom have nominated for these positions at or before the meeting. If only one member is nominated for a position, the Chairperson will declare that that person has been elected to that position. If more than one member nominates for a position, a ballot will be held. After the first ballot, the incoming President may take control of the meeting as Chairperson. A member who has nominated for a position and fails to be elected to that position may nominate or be nominated for any other position for which an election is vet to be held.

III. To elect up to 6 other members of the Committee.

Where valid nominations are held for more than 6 (or any other number that the meeting decides first) other members of the Committee, a ballot will be held. In respect of all roles on the Committee, before any ballot is taken, each candidate may give a short speech in support of his or her election. The ballot will be overseen by a returning officer elected by the meeting who is not a member nominated for a position.

5. Other business.

At the date of this notice no resolutions have been put forward to the Secretary;

If any member wishes to have any other business considered by the meeting, they must advise the Secretary in writing or by email to the address below, at least 7 days before the meeting.

6. Voting at the AGM

- i. Each member entitled to vote has one vote.
- ii. Members may vote personally or by proxy, using the proxy form provided (also available from the Secretary).
- iii. Except for any resolutions in 5. above (which each require not less than three quarters of the members voting whether in person or by proxy), matters will be decided on a majority of votes.

The Club operates under the Model Rules which will govern the proceedings of this meeting. The Rules are available on the Club website. Nomination Forms for committee positions are available at the clubhouse or by contacting the Secretary.

By the order of the Committee

Roger Church (roger.church@outlook.com)

Club Secretary

4th September 2023

Schedule 1 - Proposed fees to become effective at the commencement of the next membership year (1 April 2023 - 31 March 2024).

	Annual Fee		Joining Fee	
	Current	Proposed	Current	Proposed
Adult	\$94	\$98	\$94	\$98
Associate (U21)	\$41	\$43	\$41	\$43
Family	\$192	\$196	\$134	\$138

Fees are due by 31 March each year. Members who have not paid their annual fees by 1 May that year will have their card deactivated and will be required to pay a reactivation fee of \$20 in addition to their annual fee. Members whose fees are unpaid on 1 April the following year will have their membership cancelled and will be required to rejoin the club including paying the joining fee.

South Camberwell Tennis Club Inc.

Minutes of AGM held at the Club House at 12.30pm on 1 October 2022.

1. The meeting was opened by the Chairman and President Edward Bailey at 12.30pm.

2. Present

Edward Bailey, David Plaisted, Peggy Harker, Roger Church, Helen Webster, Anne Southwell, Francis Chew, Rolf Tesmer, John Harker, Ian Henderson, Claire Kwon, Vaughan Speck

Proxies

David Mann, Bruce Webster, Alan Kemp, Jenny Butterley, Philippa Lees, Rosemary Faraone, Victor Muiznieks, Ron Redding, Philip Siebler, Mark Hua Seng Lee, Graham Perrett, Mani Iyer, Don Owen, Margaret Harrison, Pauline Chiode, Anita Chung, Peter Bramwell, Ron Van Bemmel, Ruth Waisberg, Meredith Vincent, Tim O'Shea

Isabel Brooks, Ian Grant ,Lina Lamont, Peter Sturrock, Rashima Ghai, Ilay Givoni

Harry Sawmy, Brent Speck, Rob Turnbull, Simon Purcell, Cole Rintoul, Rosa Rintoul, Helen Lew, Adrian Wong, Clemise Speck, Predrag Cancar

As 12 members were physically in attendance and 37 proxies were held from members not physically in attendance the Chairman confirmed a quorum was present.

3. Apologies

Apologies were received from Clemise Speck and Predrag Cancar.

4. Minutes of the AGM of 10 October 2021

The minutes were confirmed as being a true record of that meeting.

5. Committee Report and Financial Statements

The Committee Report and Financial Statements for the 2021/22 year were presented to the meeting by the Chairman and these were noted by the meeting.

6. Membership Fees for 2023/24

The Chairman asked the members present to endorse the recommendation in the notice of meeting, that fees be held at current levels as below, and this was approved without dissent.

	Annual Fee		Joining Fee	
	Current	Proposed	Current	Proposed
Adult	\$94	\$94	\$94	\$94
Associate (U21)	\$41	\$41	\$41	\$41
Family	\$192	\$192	\$134	\$134

7. Election of Officers

As a precursor, the Chairman asked the meeting to support the Committee's recommendation of a maximum membership of the Committee for 2022/23 of 10, being four office bearers and six general committee positions. This was approved without dissent.

The Chairman declared all committee positions vacant and asked the Secretary to oversee the appointment of the Chair for the 2022/23 year.

The Secretary called for nominations for the position of club President and as no further nominations were forthcoming, Edward Bailey was confirmed in that role without the requirement for a ballot and resumed chairmanship of the meeting.

The following nominees were also appointed unopposed without the need for a ballot;

- David Plaisted to the position Vice President
- Roger Church to the position of Secretary
- Peggy Harker to the position of Treasurer.

After advising the meeting that nominations were already held for held for the six remaining Committee positions, and after confirming there were no further nominations forthcoming, the Chairman confirmed the following members had been appointed to the Committee;

There being no other business the meeting wa	us closed at 12.42pm.
Confirmed Chairman	Date

Vaughan Speck
Francis Chew
Anne Southwell
Clemise Speck
Helen Webster
Rolf Tesmer