# Notice of Annual General Meeting of the South Camberwell Tennis Club Held at the Annual General Meeting at the Clubhouse on 1 October 2022

## At the meeting the following items will be discussed and decided;

 To approve the minutes from the previous AGM of 9 October 2021, as attached to this notice.

## 2. To receive and consider:

- I. The Committee's annual report.
- II. The financial statements for the 2022 financial year.
- 3. To confirm or vary the amounts of the annual subscription and joining fee
  - I. The Committee recommends the annual and joining fees for all membership categories be as set out in accordance with Schedule 1 contained in this notice. The Chairman will explain the rationale for these recommended changes at the meeting

#### 4. Election of Committee and Elected Officers

To confirm a maximum membership of the Committee for 2022/2023 of 10.

At the date of this notice, all current elected officers and five current Committee members have indicated they will seek renomination.

#### II. To elect:

- i. a President,
- ii. a Vice President,
- iii. a Secretary and
- iv. a Treasurer,

in that order, each of whom have nominated for these positions at or before the meeting.

If only one member is nominated for a position, the Chairperson will declare that that person has been elected to that position. If more than one member nominates for a position, a ballot will be held. After the first ballot, the incoming President may take control of the meeting as Chairperson. A member who has nominated for a position and fails to be elected to that position may nominate or be nominated for any other position for which an election is yet to be held.

#### III. To elect up to 6 other members of the Committee.

Where valid nominations are held for more than 6 (or any other number that the meeting decides first) other members of the Committee, a ballot will be held. In respect of all roles on the Committee, before any ballot is taken, each candidate may

give a short speech in support of his or her election. The ballot will be overseen by a returning officer elected by the meeting who is not a member nominated for a position.

#### 5. Other business.

At the date of this notice no resolutions have been put forward to the Secretary;

If any member wishes to have any other business considered by the meeting, they must advise the Secretary in writing or by email to the address below, at least 7 days before the meeting.

## 6. Voting at the AGM

- i. Each member entitled to vote has one vote.
- ii. Members may vote personally or by proxy, using the proxy form provided (also available from the Secretary).
- iii. Except for any resolutions in 5. above (which each require not less than three quarters of the members voting whether in person or by proxy), matters will be decided on a majority of votes.

The Club operates under the Model Rules which will govern the proceedings of this meeting. The Rules are available on the Club website. Nomination Forms for committee positions are available at the clubhouse or by contacting the Secretary.

## By the order of the Committee

Roger Church (roger.church@outlook.com)

**Club Secretary** 

10<sup>th</sup> September 2022

Schedule 1 - Proposed fees to become effective at the commencement of the next membership year (1 April 2023 - 31 March 2024).

	Annual Fee		Joining Fee	
	Current	Proposed	Current	Proposed
Adult	\$94	\$94	\$94	\$94
Associate (U21)	\$41	\$41	\$41	\$41
Family	\$192	\$192	\$134	\$134

Fees are due by 31 March each year. Members who have not paid their annual fees by 1 May that year will have their card deactivated and will be required to pay a reactivation fee of \$20 in addition to their annual fee. Members whose fees are unpaid on 1 April the following year will have their membership cancelled and will be required to rejoin the club including paying the joining fee.

#### South Camberwell Tennis Club Inc.

## Minutes of AGM held virtually by Skype at 12.30pm on 9 October 2021.

1. The meeting was opened by the Chairman and President Edward Bailey at 12.30pm.

#### 2. Present

Edward Bailey, David Plaisted, Peggy Harker, Roger Church, Helen Webster, Anne Southwell, Francis Chew, Clemise Speck, Predrag Cancar, Rolf Tesmer, Barbara Timcke, Alan Timcke, Rashmina Ghai, Genevieve Lorbergs, Don Owen, Graham Perrett, Freny Smith, John Harker, Bruce Webster, Richard Chan, Vaughan Speck, Ian Henderson

#### **Proxies**

Adrian Wong, Bo Wang, Brent Speck, Claire Stade, David Mann, Denise Percy, Helen Lew, Isabel Brooks, Jason Beer, Judith Adler, Margaret Harrison, Maureen Chesler, Meredith Vincent, Minica Hayhurst, Nicolas Hayhurst, Nicole Rinehart, Patricia Speck, Raphael Hadeed, Richard Kiddle, Simon Purcell, Yan Liu, Cole Rintoul, Mani Iyer, Mark Hua, Rosa Rimtoul, Vladimir Sazunic

As 22 members were physically in attendance and 26 proxies were held from members not physically in attendance the Chairman confirmed a quorum was present.

## 3. Apologies

No apologies were received.

## 4. Minutes of the AGM of 10 October 2020

The minutes were confirmed as being a true record of that meeting.

## 5. Committee Report and Financial Statements

The Committee Report and Financial Statements for the 2020/21 year were presented to the meeting by the Chairman and these were noted by the meeting.

lan Henderson congratulated the Committee on navigating the various Covid-19 impacts on the club throughout the last year.

Francis Chew raised two matters on behalf of proxies – moss on the courts and the net height on court 4. The Chairman advised that scheduled court maintenance next Wednesday should take care of the moss, and that the Committee would attend to correcting the net height on court 4.

## 6. Membership Fees for 2022/23

The Chairman asked the members present to endorse the recommendation in the notice of meeting, that fees be increased as below, and this approved without dissent.

	Annual Fee		Joining Fee	
	Current	Proposed	Current	Proposed
Adult	\$92	\$94	\$92	\$94
Associate (U21)	\$40	\$41	\$40	\$41
Family	\$188	\$192	\$132	\$134

#### 7. Election of Officers

As a precursor, the Chairman asked the meeting to support the Committee's recommendation of a maximum membership of the Committee for 2021/22 of 10, being four office bearers and six general committee positions. This was approved without dissent.

The Chairman declared all committee positions vacant and asked the Secretary to oversee the appointment of the Chair for the 2021/22 year.

The Secretary called for nominations for the position of club President and as no further nominations were forthcoming, Edward Bailey was confirmed in that role without the requirement for a ballot and resumed chairmanship of the meeting.

The following nominees were also appointed unopposed without the need for a ballot;

- David Plaisted to the position Vice President
- Roger Church to the position of Secretary
- Peggy Harker to the position of Treasurer.

After advising the meeting that nominations were already held for held for the six remaining Committee positions, and after confirming there were no further nominations forthcoming, the Chairman confirmed the following members had been reappointed to the Committee;

- Predrag Cancar
- Francis Chew
- Anne Southwell
- Clemise Speck
- Helen Webster
- Rolf Tesmer

#### **Other Business**

The Chairman announced the establishment of the Ian Henderson Encouragement Scholarship which will be granted annually to a junior who might otherwise be unable to participate doe to financial constraints, to enable them to participate in tennis activities at the club, including coaching, beginning January 2022.

There being no other business the meeting was closed at 12.58pm.

Confirmed	Date
Chairman	