

# EAST MALVERN TENNIS CLUB Inc.

A0092910F
Telephone: 0477 858 854
admin@eastmalverntc.com.au
www.eastmalverntc.com.au

ABN 24 004 098 462 PO Box 1007 DARLING VIC 3145 15 Moira Street Glen Iris 3146

opp Dorothy Laver Reserve West

# Annual General Meeting Minutes 9<sup>th</sup> AGM (as Incorporated body) Sunday 29 October 2023

President Ralph Muir-Morris opened the meeting at 5.00pm and thanked everyone for their attendance.

Attendance: 37 members attended: Ralph Muir-Morris, Debra Bolic, Andrew McVean, Tony Lane, Mark Stevens, Yeung Mei Leng, Danielle Whibley, Skye Berman, Jim Bland, Rod Brown, Valerie Grigoletto, Di Hamilton, Wes Horskins, Jiayun Lu, Malcolm McRae, Ian Reade, Michele Spreckley, Lita Trimmings, Carolyn Williams, Bronwyn Hardisty, Sarah Bullen, Clive Edmonds, Clive Wright, Marina Woods, Anna Robinson, Trish Dennis, Simon Huggard, Damian Mescher, Jo Mescher, Glenn Mescher, Chris Woods, Ian Fuelscher, Liz Buzzard, Sally Smith, Douglas McKinnon, Jim Munro, Robert Mescher.

Apologies: Sarah Preston, Rohan Appleton, Kathleen Egan, Paul Turra (Auditor).

#### **Acceptance of the Previous Minutes:**

It was proposed that the Minutes of the AGM, held Sunday 23 October 2022, were a true and correct record of that meeting.

Proposed: Sarah Bullen Seconded: Skye Berman CARRIED

#### **President's Report:**

Ralph advised he wouldn't read his spiel sent in the EDM to members 13 September 2023, "EMTC 2023-24 Board of Directors - Nominations now open".

Ralph welcomed everyone to the 2022-23 AGM and thanked our regular attendees. It has been a decade for him as President and he is delighted to introduce Mark, our new incoming President.

Ralph wanted to touch on a few things from his 10 years, and below is his speech:

This is my 10<sup>th</sup> and my last AGM as President. Mark Stevens is taking over the role of President and I am sure he will do a brilliant job. It is also the last term for Deb and Glenn. The Club owes a debt of gratitude to Glenn who joined us simply because he was needed. While his boys played, Glenn has simply given back to our community. Then there is my friend Deb. I don't really need to explain to everyone here how central and significant she has been and still is. I would expect that, in the near future, Deb would receive Club recognition for all she has done.

East Malvern Tennis Club is primarily about the people who play here, and we are very fortunate to have such a great membership base. Running the Club however, is about the business of Tennis and that is a busy and diverse activity. If you are ever wondering, have a chat to Deb or Lita. We came in with a healthy bank balance and that is how we are leaving. Along the way we have won awards, earned sponsorships, survived COVID, installed led lights and updated our Courts. We have started the challenging process of

renewing the Clubhouse. Currently Stonnington are having financial challenges and so we need to keep at them.

I have been extremely lucky to have been able to work with a wonderful group of Committee members, over the journey. I would like to thank Ian Fuelscher (The Pied Piper), Onofrio Raffaele, Leigh Hunt, Sue Scarcella, Karen Clydesdale, Mahesh Kari, Natalie Harwood, and Kirsty Russell who were there at the start. The other starters, who are still with us, are Debra Bolic, Chris Woods, Rohan Appleton and Glenn Mescher. We were further blessed to have Tony Lane return and take care of the Juniors. I want to thank Paul Lidgerwood for his ability to raise money for us and his contributions to the Committee. I need to include Julie Kealey for her work around strategy. I also want to thank Andrew McVean and Alisha Fulker for their efforts, and in recent times Sarah Bullen, Danielle Whibley and Mark Stevens.

Wes and Futures Tennis Academy continue to work collaboratively with the Committee to promote the Club and attract new members. I have been grateful for Wes' support and knowledge of all things Tennis. His group is an asset for our Club.

We have received support from our Federal and State members over the journey including Kelly O'Dwyer. Thanks to Dr Michelle Anand-Rajah who helped organise a Defib for the club, and we have put up signage in accordance with that support. I want to thank our local Member Michael O'Brien for continued support for EMTC.

Lastly, I would like to thank all our members for supporting me through the past 10 years. It has been a privilege to be President. I know there are more challenges ahead and I am confident we can manage them, together.

Ralph handed over to Andrew for our 2023 Annual Report.

# **Treasurer's & 2023 Annual Report:**

Andrew presented the Treasurer's report (copy attached), along with the audited 2023 Financial Report (Annual Report). He again thanked Deb, and Lita, as they do most of the work with regards to this job. This is first 'full 12months' since Covid disruption.

There weren't any questions from the floor regarding the figures in the Annual Report.

Andrew MOVED that the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statements for 2023 be accepted.

Seconded: Skye Berman CARRIED

Debra recommended we accept Scott Partners \$1560 + GST Auditor's Quote for the 2024 Audit (no fee increase for the fourth year in a row).

The quorum agreed with this recommendation. CARRIED

Deb reminded everyone Martin & Martin Accountants do the pre audit for free each year, along with answering any questions relating to GST and other business items during the year and have done so since 2016. We very much appreciate their donation of this excellent service.

#### 25 and 50 Years' Membership:

Deb advised Michele Spreckley and Damian Mescher have reached 25 Years Membership this year and apologised for leaving him off the original Agenda.

Deb also clarified that 25 & 50 Years' Membership Certificates are given to members who have been financial paying members for the respective length of time.

If a member is granted the highest honour of 'Life Membership', then no membership payment is required for the duration of their life at their club. These members are not provided with a 25- or 50-year certificates.

### Office Bearers for 2023/24:

The four (of nine) positions available for election this year were elected unopposed:

- President Mark Stevens
- Secretary Skye Berman
- Director 4 Sarah Bullen
- Director 5 Sally Smith

Ralph announced Liz Buzzard has been appointed to the Director 2 position (vacated by Mark moving to President).

## **Other Business:**

No General Business items were submitted.

As there was no other business Ralph declared the meeting closed at 5.26pm, and thanked members for taking the time to join us today and invited them to stay and enjoy drinks & nibbles to celebrate Michele & Damian's 25 years achievement.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Director number positions are not a specific area – at the first Committee after the AGM the new Committee will discuss who and what each Director's field of expertise/interest is and go from there.